KLU appoints its first Honorary Senators

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Sönke Albers and Prof. Alan C. McKinnon

The two founding professors Dr. Alan McKinnon and Dr. Sönke Albers have been awarded the title Honorary Senator of Kühne Logistics University (KLU) which was conferred for the first time. They received the title for their extraordinary pioneering achievements in the first decade of KLU.

The title was granted in the yesterday’s online session of the Academic Senate. KLU President Prof. Dr. Thomas Strothotte thanked Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Sönke Albers and Prof. Alan McKinnon, Ph.D. for their efforts: "I hope that Prof. Albers and Prof. McKinnon will continue to will voice their opinions in order to further advance KLU with their experience and foresight. Their advice is highly valued in the whole KLU community".

Prof. Alan McKinnon (Logistics) was the first Dean of Programs and strongly supported, for instance, the founding of the Center for Sustainable Logistics and Supply Chains (CSLS), which was established in September 2020. Prof. Sönke Albers (Marketing and Innovation) was the first Professor at KLU back in 2010 and KLU’s first Dean of Research.